Skip links

ARISF President Raffaele Chiulli attends World Street Skateboarding Olympic qualifier in Rome

The world’s best street skateboarders gathered to compete in the World Street Skateboarding Rome 2022, with the Paris 2024 Olympic qualifying points on the line.

The competition hosted by the Eternal City gave strong emotions to all fans or new to the discipline who have arrived in large numbers to the brand-new Colle Oppio skatepark to admire the amazing tricks of the greatest performers of this booming sport. A show which has livened up the Capital in the picturesque and unique setting of Roman park, just in front of the Colosseum.

ARISF President Raffaele Chiulli said: “It was a pleasure to meet with the President and Secretary General of World Skate at the incredible World Skate Street Skateboarding Championships in Rome. It was a great emotion to attend and appreciate so many talented athletes in action after these last challenging years”.

“I would like to congratulate World Skate and its President, Sabatino Aracu, on organising this exciting and youthful sports event in the heart of Rome.”

“We have done something special – said Sabatino Aracu, President of World Skate, ARISF Member – A fantastic competition that had a large following. It is the first time ever that an Olympic qualification opens in this way and above all in Rome, an iconic and unique place in the world. It was important doing a great start and this was an extraordinary accomplishment.

Raffaele Chiulli, ARISF President with Sabatino Aracu, World Skate President

With 5 of the final 8 positions in the Women’s contest being held by the Japanese contingent it was likely if not inevitable that Japan would be represented on the podium. All top three positions went to the new dominant nation in female skateboarding competitions: Funa Nakayama, Momiji Nishiya and Yumeka Oda.

The Men’s final was a rollercoaster, with just a single American, two Argentinian and two French finalists signaling the shifting tides of the male competition circuit. The men’s podium: Nyjah Huston (United States), Aurelien Giraud (France) and Gustavo Ribeiro (Portugal).